Afternoon Baking | 6 Tier Rainbow Cake

If you’ve been following my blog in the last couple of months then you will have noticed that i’ve been doing the odd afternoon baking post. I LOVE cake and just can’t get enough of it.. I literally have a second stomach for it, oh wait that might just be my little cake shelf *hides*.

For Scarlett’s first birthday my husband baked her a 6 tier rainbow cake and it was INCREDIBLE, my baking skills are somewhat poor with my cakes tending to be hit and miss so I set myself a challenge to make my own rainbow cake and it was an absolute success! So here is the recipe I used so you can bake your own.

DSC_6717

For the cake

350g self raising flour

3tsp baking powder

350g soft soft unsalted butter

350g caster sugar

6 large eggs

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

splash of milk

For the frosting

100g unsalted butter, soft

250g cream cheese, at room temperature

600g icing sugar, sifted

DSC_6723

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to gas mark 4 and begin prepping your cake tins, for this I just grabbed mine from Poundland and some pre cut circle baking sheets which work a treat in them, saves a lot of fuss.
  2. Cream your butter and sugar together using an electric hand mixer until light and fluffy.
  3. Once your butter is light and fluffy add your eggs in one at a time.
  4. Begin to add your flour a little bit at a time with your hand mixer on slow, then add your baking powder and vanilla extract.
  5. Depending on how thick your mixture is add a splash of milk so it’s the correct consistency.
  6. Divide your cake mixture into six bowls, I did mine a heaped table spoon at a time to each bowl.
  7. Add your food colouring to each of the separated cake mixtures, for this I used Sugarflare gels they work wonders.
  8. Once your colours are mixed add them into your cake tins.
  9. Now it’s time to bake your cakes, I do mine 3 at a time for 15-20 minutes, prick your cakes with a cocktail stick to make sure they are fully baked, if there is mixture sticking to the stick then pop them back in for a couple more minutes.
  10. Once all baked leave them to fully cool down before frosting.
  11. Whilst your cakes are cooling now it’s time to make up your frosting, add your butter and cream cheese together combining it, once that’s done your can add your icing sugar in a little bit at the time until you get a thick consistency. Add it to the fridge to chill.
  12. Once all the cakes have cooled it’s time to assemble, add a small blob onto the centre of your cakes spreading it thinly and add your next layer, repeat this until your cakes are assembled.
  13. Crumb coat your cakes by applying a layer of frosting around the sides of your cakes which will fill any gaps. Chill for a hour after this.
  14. Apply a thick coat of frosting to your cake and using a side scraper even it out.

DSC_6729

What’s your favourite type of cake?

sig2

 

 

 

Leave a comment